Deaneries and Parishes

Woman on road looking at mapCanterbury Diocese comprises 206 parishes organised in 100 legal benefices.

There are 15 Deaneries or areas within the diocese. Many deaneries mirror local district boundaries. Each deanery has its own Deanery Synod with membership of all clergy licensed to parishes in the deanery, plus elected lay members from each parish.

The deanery is overseen by at least one Area Dean (ordained) and one Lay Chair, who hold the post for a fixed term.

Our Deaneries


Area Dean: Jeremy Worthen and Chris Denyer
Lay Chair: Liz Richardson
Assistant Lay Chair: Robert Sharp


Area Dean: Mark Griffin
Assistant Area Dean: Phil Greig
Lay Chair: Janet Bentley
Lay Chair: Liz Morrison


Area Dean: Revd Andy Bawtree
Lay Chair: Nigel Collins

East Bridge

Area Dean: Stefan Thomas
Lay Chair: Steve Sheath
Assistant Lay Chair: John Andrews


Area Dean: Jane Weeks
Lay Chair: David Donald


Area Dean: Chris Lavender
Lay Chair: vacant

North Downs

Area Dean: John Corbyn
Lay Chair: Rhian Banham


Area Dean: Steve Lillicrap
Lay Chair: Miranda Ford


Area Dean: Carol Smith
Lay Chair: Amanda Boucherat

Romney & Tenterden

Area Dean: Chris Hodgkinson
Assistant Area Dean: Chris Hodgkins
Lay Chair: Ian Bentley
Assistant Lay Chair: Penny Lowe


Area Dean: Chris Spencer
Lay Chair: Ian Stephen
Assistant Lay Chair: Trevor Longman


Area Dean: Julian Staniforth
Lay Chair: vacant


Area Deans: Richard Braddy and Philip Musindi
Lay Chair: Carole Bean


Area Dean: Rodney Dreyer
Lay Chair: Graham Codling

West Bridge

Area Dean: Ravi Holy
Lay Chair: vacant


Want to find a church? Click here