The Church of England is episcopally led (by Bishops) and synodically governed. Synods are our decision-making bodies. They are made up of a mix of elected clergy and lay people, representing every area of our diocese and Church. Diocesan structures and organisation.

Diocesan Synod

Diocesan Synod, which comprises the Bishops and elected laity and clergy, considers matters sent to it from General Synod and Deanery Synods, formulates Diocesan policy, advises the Bishop and discusses and votes on wide-ranging issues. More about Diocesan Synod.

Archbishop's Council

The Archbishop's Council is essentially the Standing Committee of the Diocesan Synod. It plans the business of the Synod, advises it, and transacts its business when not in session. The Archbishop’s Council advises the Bishop, appoints members to various committees and formulates, discusses and co-ordinates policies relating to the life and work of the Diocese.

General Synod

The General Synod, which comprises a House of Bishops, a House of Clergy and a House of Laity, with representatives from all English dioceses, meets 2-3 times a year to consider legislation for the Church of England along with worship and matters of national and international importance.

general synod_credit Geoff Crawford Church of England.jpeg
Privacy Notice | Powered by Church Edit